Description

I was able to reproduce this issue 4/4 times, and initially started in version 4.26 to determine if this issue was a regression or not. When copying a 4.27 copied project into 5.0 or 5.1, the 4.27 was replaced with the expected engine version. It is only when copying a 5.0 copied project into 5.1 that the engine version is merely appended on at the end, rather than replacing the previous engine version.

Steps to Reproduce
  1. Create a project in UE 4.27
  2. Close the project and open UE 5.0.3
  3. Open the project created in 4.27
  4. In the Convert Project window, select Open a Copy
  5. Open file explorer and navigate to where the UE projects are stored. Note that there is the original project name (ex. MyProject) and a second one with 5.0 appended at the end (ex. MyProject 5.0)
  6. Close the project in 5.0.3 and open up UE 5.1
  7. Open the 5.0 version of the project
  8. In the Convert Project window, select Open a Copy

Result: In the file explorer, the 5.1 copy of the project has both 5.0 and 5.1 at the end of the project name (ex. MyProject 5.0 5.1)

Expected: In the file explorer, the 5.1 copy of the project just has 5.1 appended at the end of the project name (ex. MyProject 5.1)

Have Comments or More Details?

There's no existing public thread on this issue, so head over to Questions & Answers just mention UE-170720 in the post.

2
Login to Vote

By Design
ComponentUE - Editor - Framework
Affects Versions5.1
CreatedNov 21, 2022
ResolvedDec 5, 2022
UpdatedDec 6, 2022