"Package Plugin" from Plugin Editor UI will wipe the target folder’s contents first then populate it with plugin files.
User was expecting “Package Project” like behavior: Create a new folder in the target folder, then put packaged files in the new folder, while deleting none of existing contents.
Compared with “Package Project”, "Package Plugin"'s wipe the target folder first behavior is destructive, might cause user data loss. User hopes "Package Plugin" would not delete existing folder contents.
0. Create a folder somewhere in PC, populate it with dummy files/folders(note: these will get deleted in step 5, do not put any important file)
1. Create a new C++ empty project
2. Add a "New Plugin" from Plugins Editor UI, use BlueprintLibrary template
3. Restart the editor
4. Show the newly created plugin in Plugins Editor UI, now "Package..." action is available
5. From "Package..." choose the folder created in step 0
6. Open the folder to see the plugin is packaged but all of existing dummy files/folders get deleted
Expectation: No existing files/folders get deleted like doing "Package Project"
Head over to the existingAnswerHub thread and let us know what's up.