Description

Closing an AdvancedPreviewScene results in a call to UAssetViewerSettings::Save to save the preview scene settings, regardless of whether or not anything has been modified. This in turn calls UpdateDefaultConfigFile, which resaves the DefaultEditor.ini file. This operation will fail silently if the asset is marked ReadOnly by source control, but can cause it to appear in the Pending Changes list if using a source control provider that doesn't lock the file.

Steps to Reproduce
  1. In file explorer, navigate to [Project Directory]/Config/DefaultEditor.ini
  2. Open the editor, and open up a material (or some other asset that uses AdvancedPreviewScene)
  3. In the material editor, go to the "Window" menu and ensure the "Preview Scene Settings" is checked.
  4. Close the asset, and note that the timestamp has updated on DefaultEditor.ini despite no changes to the file

Have Comments or More Details?

There's no existing public thread on this issue, so head over to Questions & Answers just mention UE-121106 in the post.

2
Login to Vote

Unresolved
ComponentUE - Foundation - Core
Affects Versions4.264.275.0
Target Fix5.1
CreatedAug 5, 2021
UpdatedJan 14, 2022